And the winner is … Fucked Up

up-Fucked_Up_coverThere you have it, folks. The 2009 Polaris Music Prize winner is Fucked Up‘s The Chemistry Of Common Life.

As you probably already read on my previous Polaris post, the Toronto-based pop-core band weren’t my number one choice. Actually they weren’t even on my radar. I was upset when they were announced as the winners (I *heart* you, Great Lake Swimmers!), mainly because I didn’t see any artistic merit in their music. But enough whining from me. If you followed me on Twitter, you probably heard (read?) enough of my temper-tantrum.

Regardless, I give them a pat on their sweaty, naked backs. Go forth, ye heathens. May you drink yourself silly and go streaking in Toronto’s streets this fine eve.

Tonight’s excitement was documented by MuchMusic. You can watch it all over again this Saturday, September 26 at 9 p.m. ET and again at midnight. Encore presentations will air on Friday, October 2 at 9 p.m. ET on MTV2 and Monday, October 12 at 10 p.m. ET on Bravo!

You can also relive the event via radio by downloading the CBC Radio 3 podcast on iTunes tomorrow morning (starting 8 a.m.).

Now that the 2009 Polaris is over, it’s time for me to think about the 2010 Polaris. On my nomination list so far: Amy Millan, Amelia Curran, Dan Mangan and Sunset Rubdown.

Comments
One Response to “And the winner is … Fucked Up”
  1. Lenny says:

    That’s an unusual choice for this year. Sat there with a shocked response. Well, I hope there will be a better choice for 2010 Polaris. Basia Bulat should definitely be in it since her album is going to be out on Jan. 26.

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 55,047 hits
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 134 other followers

