Basia Bulat charms Vancouver with new album

Picture by myself. For more, visit my Flickr.

Last September I saw Basia Bulat perform at St. James Hall before she released her new effort Heart Of My Own. Having fallen deeply in love with this new record, I absolutely had to experience it live, so I ventured out to her show at St. James Hall (once again!) on Friday, March 5.

Bulat played one of my new favourite songs, “Run,” on the piano, and it was a rousing, jubilant, swelling performance. There were some autoharp difficulties with Oh, My Darling classic “In The Night” (apparently it didn’t sound quite as Bulat expected, although I thought it was just fine), but that didn’t prevent the folk singer-songwriter from shrugging it off and picking up the guitar for an ecstatic rendition of “Gold Rush.”

Like “Gold Rush,” Bulat’s new songs like “Only You,” “Heart Of My Own” and “Sugar And Spice” turned into a giant sing-along with all of the die-hard fans who’ve obviously spent a lot of time taking in her brilliant album.

Another highlight was “The Shore.” Katie Stelmanis, who opened the show, contributed her beautiful piano skills to the song. For the encore, Bulat sang “Before I Knew” without a microphone and with only her trusty ukulele, her voice filling the massive ceilings of St. James Hall.

Overall, I’m fairly certain Bulat charmed the pants off of the enormous crowd that clapped and whistled for her after every song. I know I was spellbound.

Comments
2 Responses to “Basia Bulat charms Vancouver with new album”
  1. Lenny says:

    That must be cool to enjoy.
    I’m guessing Basia knows you too? 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] 26, 2010 is the day when Basia Bulat releases her second long awaited album called “Heart Of My Own“. Off the success from her speculator debut Oh My Darling. Basia does it again […]



Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 55,094 hits
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 134 other followers

